15 years helping British businesses
choose better software

About Autotask PSA

Customizable solution includes project management, CRM and service desk with integrated time and billing running off the same database.

Learn more about Autotask PSA

Pros:

Autotask has helped us track our technicians' time, our sales process, and to remain ever mindful of our revenue and profitability. Autotask is purpose-built for our industry, and it shows.

Cons:

The integration with Datto RMM did not work properly tickets not being created, sometimes slow and issues when logging in to the portal.

Autotask PSA ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
3.9
Customer Service
4.1
Features
4.2
Value for Money
4.0

Likelihood to recommend

7.7/10

Autotask PSA has an overall rating of 4.3 out of 5 stars based on 134 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Autotask PSA before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (134)

Kavindu Githsara
Kavindu Githsara
System Specialist in Sri Lanka
Verified LinkedIn User
E-Learning, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

The Inside Scoop on Autotask PSA

5.0 last year

Comments: While Autotask PSA isn't perfect, it has definitely improved the way we manage our projects and services. The centralization of data, scheduling, resource management, and integration capabilities are all great features that have made our lives easier. However, it's important to be prepared for the software's complexity and occasional performance hiccups. If you can navigate these challenges, Autotask PSA can be a valuable tool for managing your professional services.

Pros:

I've been using Autotask PSA for some time now, and I must admit that it has made a difference in how we manage our projects and services. One of the things I appreciate the most is the centralization of all our data in one place. It has made it much easier to track and manage our projects, resources, and clients. The scheduling and resource management features have been a game-changer, helping us allocate the right resources to the right tasks and projects. I also love the integration with other software we use, like our CRM and accounting tools. It has simplified our workflows and made everything more seamless.

Cons:

Despite the benefits, Autotask PSA does have a few downsides. The first thing that comes to mind is the complexity of the software. It took me quite a bit of time to get comfortable with all the features and options. I wish they had more straightforward tutorials or help guides to make it easier for new users. Another issue I've encountered is the occasional slow performance, especially when generating reports or loading large amounts of data. It can be a bit frustrating when you're trying to get work done quickly.

Ravi
Ravi
CEO in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer & Network Security, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Still a good product post acquisition

4.0 8 months ago

Comments: Autotask is great, billing processes and automation are top notch, it is a very mature platform.

Pros:

We're able to leverage heavily ticket automation in autotask resulting in a very high revenue per technical employee. Feature rich, integration rich.

Cons:

Reporting is so crappy it's barely usable, much of what we use is either basic dashboard level reporting (which is good) or built outside of autotask.

Bruce
CTO in US
Computer & Network Security, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Autotask PSA is an ERP for MSPs

4.0 2 months ago New

Comments: Overall, we could not run our business without it. We use it for many of the functions that run our business. Everything from contract management, time tracking, tickets and even time off requests. It has integrations with many products that enhance the capabilities and improve our operations.

Pros:

Autotask is at the core of business. We use it for client tickets, scheduling and billing. It integrates quoting opportunities, project management and financials that feed integrations so we can track KPIs for our techs.

Cons:

In our experience, the project management and CRM modules are not great. We use the project management module because its more convenient then using a 3rd party product but its not great. We don't use the CRM because it isn't as good as other products in tracking sales leads and opportunities.

diane
Coordinating assistant in US
Computer & Network Security, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

It Does What It Says - And That's It

3.0 2 months ago New

Pros:

Easy functionality is important because i work as a one man team

Cons:

the support is impossible to get through to in critical times

Lachlan
Director in Australia
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Business management made easy

4.0 9 months ago

Comments: Using PSA for capture issues within our IT business and simply bill time makes for much less overhead time spent.

Pros:

Easily record issues within tickets and allocate time to bill within one page.

Cons:

Layout or UI could use an update, which I believe is on the way. we make do with the reports but using the custom reports can be difficult.

Jeff
Principal in US
Information Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Feature rich - alway improving

5.0 9 months ago

Comments: Autotask has been a great product. We have been extremely pleased to see how the Kaseya purchase has positively impacted the product. We continue to see feature rich updates and improvements in the product that make use easier. We are excited about our future and continue to use his platform.

Pros:

Autotask is a feature rich PSA for the manage services business. The dashboard feature is extremely convenient to help in finding information easily. There are a lot of automation capabilities within the product.

Cons:

It can be a little bit clicky as far as driving into menus to get to desired pieces of information. Once you understand how the system works, it does become easier to implement and change. I would invest resources and time into understanding how it’s all put together, so you can take full advantage of the features. I also highly recommend using their consulting services to onboard this product. It’s too big of an investment to wing it.

Simon
Director in UK
Information Technology & Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Autotask a sledge hammer for a nut?

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: Overall its doing the job so we continue to use it. It is expensive for what it is but if its not broke don't fix it.

Pros:

Its thorough and excellent when working with multiple organisations.

Cons:

Its very convoluted. This means its very flexible for sure but it can also be a bit of a mine field.

Elizabeth
Owner in US
Information Technology & Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Great for Large Teams

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: Overall I enjoyed using the Autotask PSA for most things, but it was not a good fit for the team I was working with.

Pros:

Autotask PSA is a great option for large teams. It is fully customizable, offers a wide array of features, and has an excellent, hands-on onboarding process. It is a great option for large teams.

Cons:

This software required quite a bit of manual set up for tasks I needed -- things such as automatically sending emails to clients on ticket updates, changing fields from required to not required, etc. For a very small team, onboarding was a bit onerous.

Ben
Director in US
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Autotask Tops CW and other Ticket Systems

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Autotask is a clean solution to IT ticketing needs that can otherwise be a complete mess to sort through.

Pros:

Autotask is highly customizable and sorts everything into queues easily. AT tracks more aspects of the business than other ticketing platforms I've used.

Cons:

Autotask has an intricate back-end with many rules and settings... sometimes the rules can overlap each other and it's not always clear where to find the solution if a taskfire is misfiring or failing.

Micheal
Marketing Director in US
Hospital & Health Care, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Autotask PSA Is an Insightful and Reliable Solution

5.0 2 months ago New

Pros:

Autotask PSA has brilliant and easy to use features. The capabilities of Autotask PSA are excellent.

Cons:

I do not dislike Autotask PSA at all. Autotask PSA has been the best.

Katie
Director of Operations in US
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

A PSA to handle everything from ticketing to invoicing; Extremely customizable

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: My overall experience with Autotask PSA, from implementation to daily use, has been very favorable. I would highly recommend this software due to its versatility and ability to be customized. Our company was not taking full advantage of all modules (contracts and invoicing, specifically), which was detrimental to our overall efficiency. My recommendation would be that anyone considering this software look to implement all facets of the software for the best result.
Autotask PSA has an extensive FAQ library, webinars (live and recorded) and tutorials for new Administrators and users. Customer support was also very helpful when we had specific questions or issues, and there is a handy scheduling feature for technical support chats.

Pros:

Autotask PSA is an extremely customizable tool. Different departments can have customized ticket categories, including Issue Types, priorities, resources, ticket status, due dates, workflows and notifications (and more) to fire off based on the rules associated with each category. The updates to the software in the last 18 months have improved the user experience. For example, when viewing a ticket, all pertinent information is available on the screen, from the ticket details to the activity history and even the company and contact information. It is simple to add "User Defined Fields" which are custom fields specific to your company or industry that you can add to Companies, Tickets, Contracts and more. There are several different 'modules' that are all included in the PSA license (no add on fees to take advantage of them). These include contract details, tracking sales leads and opportunities, generating invoices and syncing with Quickbooks and other financial software. The reporting module has a myriad of popular reports available with the option to customize each. Advanced reporting users can also create their own reports from any of the available data entry fields, including User Defined Fields. Timesheets and Expenses are tracked in this tool, including available vacation and sick time. Time off requests can be approved by authorized users. Users have access to widgets to quickly display data and metrics. Completely integrated with Datto/Autotask RMM tool.

Cons:

There is a large learning curve when implementing this software. It is a common mistake to create a lot of customization (UDFs and workflows) because the Administrator is not familiar with the modules or the best practices of the software. Creating custom reports can be very cumbersome due to the vast number of options and fields available. When creating a new ticket, time entry or activity entry, a new window opens in the browser (which was an annoyance for some team members).

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Solid solution with lots of integrations

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: Overall Autotask has been a solid solution for our MSP. As we grow, we continually discover features within the PSA that we didn't know we had and/or needed. This has helped keep our costs down since we don't have to add additional toolsets from other vendors.

Pros:

Autotask PSA allows us to handle much of our work from a single platform. Their extensive integration with vendors allows us to quickly link to items, such as asset details, directly from the service ticket. The integration with distributors helps with contract management, as purchased licenses with the vendor automatically get added to the service contract in Autotask.

Cons:

The design feels dated and not as intuitive as other solutions we've tried and in spite of several new releases, the overall UI doesn't appear to be changing.

Hesham Gomaa Elmasry
EDI Product & Project Manager in Egypt
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

Very effective ticketing and project management tool

4.0 6 years ago

Pros:

Ticketing with Autotask saving a lot of time and efforts, it facilitates the communication between all stakeholders including our clients, allows internal notes on the ticket controls what the client can see and what is not, adding user defined fields allows us to generate more meaningful reports related to our business and our needs. Managing projects is very productive with Autotask, as I can create a project and add some phases, and for each phase I can add what ever required tasks with a very effective hierarchy, also it updates the phase's status automatically when all related tasks completed. It has a very powerful dashboard to list all project's status and other very helpful statistics, also the recent feature saves a lot of time searching for the same issue or ticket I just opened from a while. It is very reliable, bugs free, has no performance issues an with a very good and friendly UI.

Cons:

Why there is no feature to generate Project management charts like, network diagrams, WBS, Gantt charts from the current open projects?

Ivan
Managing Partner in Angola
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Our hub for delivery of Managed Services

5.0 last year

Pros:

I really appreciate the level of customization that we can implement on tickets, assets and workflows. It allows us to reflect our specific needs on the app, and avoid mistakes. The interface is very pleasant as well, altough I am not a fan on the recent changes following Kaseya's purchase. Just not a fan of theyr color and fonts, and it lost a bit from the previous UX.

Cons:

It can be complex to implement and overwhelming. In particular, there should be some help in order to ensure the basics can be setup in accordance to best practices without much effort. There is the risk of losing yourself customizating worflows and tickets with a lot of detail, to later realize a lot of changes are required to fix some incorrect first steps.

John
Operations director in UK
Information Technology & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Used for 5 years+

5.0 last year

Pros:

Good dashboarding for presenting data. Report self service is okay. Good integration between crm and service desk.

Cons:

Cmdb is weak and clunky. Would be better if solution included some of the 3rd party tools needed to be an efficient MSP.

Bryan
Director of Business Development in US
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

AutoTask Reviee

3.0 9 months ago

Comments: AutoTask gets the job done and I have used it for many years, but I’m sure better alternatives exist. Kaseya has thankfully taken over the product and they are making regular efforts to improve it.

Pros:

It gets the job done and is a competent ticketing platform.

Cons:

Convoluted design. Way too many menus. Not easy to navigate. Having to always put a ticket in edit mode for every little change is annoying. The product feature suggestion board is a waste of time. People have to vote on your suggestions before they’re considered. The system is not great.

Derek
CIO in US
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

I have been working with ATP for 10+ years now

3.0 7 years ago

Pros:

It is great for startup companies but not for companies that are growing and offers tools like big boy enterprise applications, and you can get up and running quickly.

Cons:

I have been suggesting in the forums for years to have a way to remove in a simple and easy "select all" for graphics that are attached from the email parser and clutter up tickets, and no response. Recently I was in a webinar and pointedly asked about why this was not included in the update and crickets..... it is the little things that annoy folks over time, and having to scroll through every signature graphic and html goop and clean up ticket for easier use. The support staff for plugins like procurement and sales are also annoying...

Jonathan
Application Support Team Lead in US
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great overall system

4.0 7 years ago

Pros:

I really like the templates for tickets and other automation that can be done with this system. I don't use this for any billing or project management anymore but have in the past. I was not impressed with either of those two feature sets but it has been about 2 years since I've used them. The basic reports are good for getting a fundamental view of your ticket metrics

Cons:

Inline image support should be extended. Should be easier to email out attachments from ticket notes. Email parser seems to have some intermittent problems where the email is not converted to a ticket. Reporting capabilities need some serious overhaul - only the most basic reports/info are available.

Jahiezer
Desarrollador in Venezuela
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

All you need to make a tickets in one page

4.0 6 years ago

Pros:

A very helpful tool for working into the online world and have a controll for all your transactions ith the clients no matters the place in the world they are. The UI is really nice, thouhg is not the most pretty, have the most frecuently tools in ne page and make the proces faster. I work with people allover the world and this app help us to integrate our work and make a more faster process

Cons:

One of the most problematic issues that i see is in the securyty, is not real levels, everyone wit acces can do anything they want to, so you must have complety trust in the person you give acces, but in bussines fully trust is not enough. Also dislike the fact that they use te user computer time becouse i work with people in diferents time zones and that make some notes and tickets get to confuse

Baldeep
IT Consultant in UK
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Powerful Helpdesk

4.0 6 years ago

Pros:

This helpdesk has a lot of functions. With all the data teams enter in the working day this can help accounts departments with invoicing in bulk with time constraints.

Cons:

For the end user there are a number of fields to input. For example in an MSP work environment, you need to enter the company before the individuals name. Having that requirement slows down input and confuses the customer. The mobile app needs improvement. More investment on making this easy to use on mobiles and tablets is key to allowing engineers to work in the field.

Tharini
Tharini
Software Engineer in Sri Lanka
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Good PSA but the API requires major developments and functionality enhancements

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: Overall a good PSA however needs major improvements to the API because right now it feels like they made it just to show off they have an API because it has so many limitations.

Pros:

Feature rich.Good for documentation and tracking tickets and device details. The workflow system is good.Mostly flexible.

Cons:

Not user friendly- takes time to learn. API needs a lot of development - cannot merge using API, Attachment size limit that doesnt make sense at all? Reporting section can be certainly improved. Allows only three IP's to the warehouse.

Josh
Project Manager in US
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Autotask make managing our IT department a piece of cake.

5.0 7 years ago

Pros:

This software has allowed us to centralize a number of system we used to have as separate systems, and also ties seamlessly into our existing ERP software. It's changed the way we handle our work flows, and project management, and made ticketing and billing simple.

Cons:

The only down side I can really see that we had with the software was the learning curve. It was a little different to get used to at first, but not I'm not sure what we did without it.

Karen
Registered nurse in US
Hospital & Health Care, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Ticket management simplified with the help of Autotask

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: My overall experience would be two thumbs up! it isn't another ticket managing system I would prefer rather than Auto task. I feel like I'm going to be with it for a long time

Pros:

Auto task can integrate with almost any third-party software you can imagine it can create tickets on its own from alerts received from third-party vendors, can close tickets when it notices the devices back online all by itself and on and on and on. With auto tasks if you want to automate or just keep track of your tickets or service calls it's so simple

Cons:

If you've never used auto task before it can feel overwhelming. There is so much you can click on and view that most users have a hard time learning everything it can do

Jamie
Helpdesk Specialist in US
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

I have been working in IT for well over 10 years and used many ticket tools, by far the best.

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

Can make tickets quickly and easily and anytime I have trouble I can contact support by phone or chat and they are always super helpful. I also like the email to ticket functionality.

Cons:

When people send an email to our support address and CC other people on it, others will reply all and create additional tickets and Autotask does not do anything to prevent this, it just creates duplicate tickets.

Dean
Marketing Analyst in US
Computer & Network Security, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Autotask PSA Review

4.0 6 years ago

Pros:

Autotask PSA is a comprehensive software that includes everything from CRM capabilities to project workflow and automation tracking. The wide range of business functions covered is outstanding.

Cons:

As a marketing professional, I would have liked to see more CRM capabilities, account linking, automatic messaging, more classification and in-depth users.